UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

Bloggy review meeting

Posted by gazjjohnson on 28 August, 2008

The four of us (Selina, Sarah, Keith and myself) had a meeting this morning to reflect back on the development of this blog, and how we move into the next phase for it.  Looking at the posting stats we were quite pleased to see that we’ve had an average of 1 post every two days (or .75 posts/day if you only count the week days) which isn’t a bad ratio.  Goodly amount of discussion and comment too.

Major things we decided were:

  • To continue with the blog as an internal reflective tool for library staff
  • To appraise management of our experiences so far
  • To invite a select group of additional people to start reading, commenting or posting (our Population II Group)

There were one or two other matters, mostly in terms of layout and design as well, which I’ll tweak shortly.  But all in all we agreed that this had been a very useful tool for expanding our individual knowledge of developments and issues across the UoL library service.  Come the end of October we’ll look back at it again, and consider what the next phase should comprise – potentially making it available to all lib-staff to read at the least.

22 Responses to “Bloggy review meeting”

  1. sarahw9 said

    Sorting out that log in is still eluding me…

  2. gazjjohnson said

    I’d suggest falling on your own sword, but that would be uncharitable. ;) Maybe we should just kill it off and teach people who want to comment the way to login via the dashboard as the primary route; rather than tacking on something to help them that uglifies the blog by 25%?

    Might save your valuable time for now. If it does become an issue (as talking with Test Population 2 and garnering their reflections will have to be part of our Oct/Nov review) then perhaps it’ll be worth revisiting. But if I were you I’d leave well enough alone :)

  3. sarahw9 said

    I think you is right – will take out the admin widget for now, don’t really like it.

  4. sarahw9 said

    someone sitting next to me here couldn’t find how to log in – so we may have a problem. perhaps will need revisiting…

  5. gazjjohnson said

    But that’s assuming that WP is intuative (which I don’t think it is). I’d compile a short “How to” sheet on it before we let Gen2 loose on it, and that should answer a lot of problems.

  6. knockels said

    Logging in (it was me!) is ok once you know that you have to trick WordPress by asking to comment when you don’t really want to. A “how to” sheet would solve that.

  7. gazjjohnson said

    I just bookmarked (http://uollibraryblog.wordpress.com/wp-admin/) and so when my system kills off my cookies (which it has a habit of doing) go there first.

  8. Phil said

    Excellent site you have here.. It’s difficult to find excellent writing like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  9. I think this is among the most vital info for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some general things, The site style
    is great, the articles is really great : D. Good
    job, cheers

  10. Home Page said

    If some one wants to be updated with hottest technologies after that he must be pay
    a visit this website and be up to date daily.

  11. Good day I am so excited I found your site, I really found
    you by accident, while I was browsing on Askjeeve for something else,
    Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a tremendous post and a all round entertaining
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

  12. Good business means to buy items as low in cost as possible and sell them
    at the highest price you can get for them.
    ¨ Don’t waste your money trying to buy lists of video game distribution companies. It is best though to think of a niche so you can plan on your marketing strategy.

  13. Albertha said

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your weblog. You have some really great articles and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back
    to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested. Many thanks!

  14. Hello! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look
    forward to new posts.

  15. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be
    on the web the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed
    while people think about worries that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  16. Hello friends, fastidious article and pleasant urging commented here,
    I am actually enjoying by these.

  17. My brother suggested I may like this web site. He was entirely right.
    This publish truly made my day. You can not believe just how
    much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  18. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this write-up plus the
    rest of the site is also very good.

  19. acai berry said

    I was curious if you ever considered changing the structure of your blog?
    Its very well written; I love what youve gott to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the
    way off conten so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got aan awful lot of text for only having
    one or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  20. Hi! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My web site looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4.
    I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this issue.
    If you have any recommendations, please share. Many thanks!

  21. This page truly has all the info I wanted about this
    subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  22. It’s really a great and helpful piece of info. I’m happy that you shared
    this helpful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this.
    Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

