UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

RSS readers in information literacy classes

Posted by knockels on 17 July, 2008

I already include RSS in my “Keeping up to date” class that I do for the Student Learning Centre.   I show my Bloglines account and talk about the various different types of things there.    I mention Outlook 2007 (and Internet Explorer 7) but there may indeed be scope for covering Outlook in more detail once it is available off campus.

I’ve tried out all sorts of things in Bloglines – news, weather, football, blogs, LRA, journals TOCs, cartoons, and so on, but there is definitely a divide opening up between what I am likely to use myself (have found several very useful looking blogs over recent weeks) and what is possible.

Also, I do find it easy to let RSS get out of hand and discover that there are 200 items to read in one feed!

4 Responses to “RSS readers in information literacy classes”

  1. sarahw9 said

    I agree about the info overload. AJC said you can always delete, but there are alot that I think I really ‘should’ be reading – and thats already too many. Perhaps thats where the semantic web will come in…

    glad to hear you are in there with the student learning centre! I wonder should we be promoting RSS at any other level, eg undergrad?

  2. gazjjohnson said

    I confess I’ve never used RSS that much myself, long been aware of it – but my information seeking habbits are more pull than push (I like to decide to look at something like a book or a website, rather than coming in and finding my RSS fuller than my email inbox).

    But yes, I can see them working for some folks.

  3. ajcann said

    Does anyone use Google Reader? The shared items feature is quite good – it might be possible to flag “high priority” articles that way?

  4. gazjjohnson said

    Yes, though in a very limited way.

Leave a Reply

 
