UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

Paying for your region

Posted by gazjjohnson on 5 August, 2008

I see CILIP’s asking via its Special Interest Groups and Branches for feedback on their new funding model.  At the mo you get your regional branch bundled in, two free special interest groups and then you pay for any extra groups.  Due to CILIP’s financial situation this can’t stand, and so following the flat-fee this year, they’re now proposing options that mean you get two free groups OR branches.

Funding for SIGs and Branches is going to be based on the level of membership they have, plus a flat fee.

I think this might not be brilliant for regional branches, who don’t have that great a visibility within the sector – certainly not as great as SIGs have.  It’s been said time and again that librarians associate with their SIGs more than their region, which in many respects is a real shame.  Certainly the East-Midlands Branch has been doing some good stuff, certainly over the years I’ve been here – conferences and the like across the sectors.  Sadly I think they’re one of the better ones, and may well get tarred with the same brush as the others.

So if you’re on lis-usr (or one of the other group lists) and want to make your voice heard on this – reply to the Group Chairs with your opinions.

5 Responses to “Paying for your region”

  1. selinalock said

    I think they still have the more fundamental problem of attracting members in the first place. I’m not a member as I don’t see the advantage of being one, but then I’ve never applied for any jobs that required you to be chartered.

  2. gazjjohnson said

    DMU are about the only place I can remember seeing advertising jobs for chartered librarians in the past decade. Personally I’ve never worked anywhere that was that hot on CILIP, but I’ve always valued the networking the organisation enables for me.

  3. sarahw9 said

    I’m a member of CILIP but confess to not getting round to local things. I know I should. Have not been so convinced about chartership, someone told me it was more of the teaching university priority than a research university priority (for various cultural reasons I suppose).

    Higher profile for the regional group would be good – more likely to go to a local conference or meet up than a national one.

    So what do I have to do?

  4. gazjjohnson said

    I’ve done the local committee thing, and a lot of national committee thing (taking a break from all that for now) – and I confess I got a lot back from that experience. Now I’m an ordinary (chartered) member again…must agree that there’s not a lot spoon fed – you have to get involved to get the benefits I’d say (be it conf, meetings or committee work!)

  5. sarahw9 said

    you mean would actually have to ‘do’ something😉, usual problem of time contraints (family etc). I’m sure others manage it though.

Leave a Reply

 
