UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

I’ll take a satnav any day

Posted by gazjjohnson on 13 August, 2008

I’ve been a “proper” librarian for a change today, and that means I’ve been out of the office and moving things around on shelves.  One of the many tasks I’ve had on the to-do list for a bit was updating our guidance for geological surveys in the library.  Having reformatted the page, I thought I’d best wander to the physical stock and check it all tallied.

It did…for the most part.  However, there were a few nasty little errors and a handful of omissions to correct.  There was also a shelf and a half of books out of sequence for…well I’m guessing a while looking at the dust on them.  I decided that it would be more effective to shift them myself – given that by the time I’d worked out whom to ask to sought this out and waited for them to fit it into their work-plans it could be term time!

Thus when I link to the geosurvey help page from Rooms2, I’m going to quite content in the knowledge that it’s an accurate guide!

[Edit: And the page is live…]

4 Responses to “I’ll take a satnav any day”

  1. sarahw9 said

    I bet there are alot of things like that lurking. Which leads me on to weeding…

  2. gazjjohnson said

    There always are – which is why I always apply the “10 item to do list” rule normally. Items 11 on will never get done unless you have some slack time or priorities change. This week, what with one thing and another, I had that aforementioned slack. Took me the best part of a day to sort out mind you…

    Onto item 12…

  3. evelyncornell said

    Useful page for archaeologists. Why is the information only sitting in a blog? Why is it not linked on the collections web page. Is this a test?

  4. gazjjohnson said

    It’s in Rooms2 linked as off now – and since you read this, you’ll be able to share the news as appro!

Leave a Reply

 
