UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

Small Worlds hands on

Posted by gazjjohnson on 16 October, 2008

The power of social networking in a professional environment was self-evident even before yesterday – I wasn’t down to help out with Alan’s session, but whilst we’d been chatting over Twitter the night before he’d invited me to come along.  Glad he did, as it was certainly one of the more satisfying bits of student teaching I’ve done in a while; helped by the excellent student teacher ratio which must have been close to 4:1.  That was certainly better than the RefWorks class I had the other week; but that’s another story entirely.

Yesterday’s session was a follow up to one Alan had led about online social networking and was the hands on explore for yourself resources like Delicious , Twitter and the Small Worlds Wiki for about 20-25 students.  For a good chunk of the session the students were registering on Small Worlds and creating their profiles, and then they were off to explore the various social tools -in most cases it seems without stopping to read the instructions and help on the Small Worlds site. 

Not that I can blame them, that’s exactly what I do – refreshing to meet so many people with a similer learning style to myself!  I spent the time during the session, as Alan put it, “chatting up” the students.  Alan, like my MiL uses chatting up in the context of talking to them, social networking in vivo rather than in silico if you will.  They were a great bunch of students and it was refreshing to see them pretty quickly get to grasp with not just the tools, but how they could use them in their studies and research. Very rewarding, and repeated today with Selina in residence.

2 Responses to “Small Worlds hands on”

  1. sarahw9 said

    Yes I think we all try things out without the instructions first don’t we?

    Had similar good experience with RSS session today, which I will put on PLE project blog.

  2. gazjjohnson said

    Excellent! My one worry following this session, which hit me today on the train, is that with four faciliators this was training worthy of PhD students. When I do my sessions in a couple of weeks it’s just me – the lack of available extra hands to help out with our teaching might well not be appreciated by the students (I can only be in so many places at once…)

Leave a Reply

 
