UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

LRA and the role of the information librarian

Posted by gazjjohnson on 6 January, 2009

Wearing my LRA hat this morning, and working through the pile of correspondence that Keith has passed on to me.  There’s one here from my old associate Talat Chaudhri at Aber Uni concerning “acquiring work for archiving and subject librarians” that makes for interesting reading.  Interestingly it seems at Aber that the subject librarians don’t have a whole lot to do with the process, as their contacts are used for “other ppurposes”.

I know it was a similar case when I was the repository manager at Nottingham; though I spent a lot of time trying to get the subject librarian teams on side and involved in the process.  With varying degrees of success.  I’m still trying to get a picture of what my collegues here at Leicester do, but I do know that most of them have alerts and the like and use these as the stimulus to approach academics for material.

That said having done a study late last year on the coverage of our major alerting databases and academic output I’m well aware of the major holes in their coverage; which means we’re missing quite a bit of material.  I’m hoping to explore links with the Research Office to perhaps plug that gap, making the whole process more systematic.  I do worry though that this might risk cutting the info librarians out of the loop, and I believe that their involvement in the LRA is a key factor for promotion, uptake, as well as acquisition of articles.  Doubtless I’ll have more insight as I get to grips with the situation here at Leicester over the coming weeks.

2 Responses to “LRA and the role of the information librarian”

  1. sarahw9 said

    I need to visit you about the LRA in the future (when you’ve got settled in perhaps) as there are plenty of gaps in my knowledge. For instance the whole legal side – something we are most likely to be asked about from academics.

    I’m happy to get linked in with the Research Office myself or whatever is required. Currently my LRA input is simply picking up alerts from WOS on new publications and asking the relevant author to submit it to the LRA. Let me know what is going on. Communication is key🙂

  2. Sounds like you’re doing all the right things there! Speaking with the boss yesterday, one of the things she wants me to do is essentially audit the subject librarians to get a feel for what they are doing and when (not to mention exploring what support they might need in this regard).

    Maybe that’ll be a topic for the Subject Librarian’s meetings we’re due to have in the near future or the away morning at the end of the month!

Leave a Reply

 
