UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

I always feel like, someone’s watching me

Posted by gazjjohnson on 9 January, 2009

Item on the BBC news today – http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/7819230.stm

From March all Internet Service Providers (ISPs) will by law have to keep information about every e-mail sent or received in the UK for a year.

Interesting, though obviously civil liberty groups are up in arms; and considering all the recent failures in data security I’d be inclined to trust corporations to hold this data even less than the government.  What I want to know is – does this include my googlemail accounts via their service, or just those I send using my ISPs provided email client?

And what about all those emails we send to students on their home accounts?  Not like we send anything that sensitive but when you consider the range of subjects our students study are we going to end up with these being intercepted?

As a librarian professionally I’m not the least bit impressed by these regulations, and especially the way the government appears to be sneaking them under the radar.  But perhaps this is all another storm in a tea cup?

2 Responses to “I always feel like, someone’s watching me”

  1. ajcann said

    My biggest concern was the suggestion that the work is going to be outsourced to a private company.

  2. Group 4 or TNT maybe, they’ve a good history of keeping things under wraps. Not.

Leave a Reply

 
