UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

Talking about my blog regeneration

Posted by gazjjohnson on 3 March, 2009

I have just returned from the outer limits of the 2nd floor, where I’ve been having a lively discussion with Stu Johnson and colleague Marta about blogging.  Stu tells me that he’s been very impressed with the UoL Library blog and what we’ve been doing with it, which is really great to hear.  As regular readers know I’m a big advocate of blogs as knowledge based resources and communication channels within organisations (as well as without); so I’m delighted our own little corner of the blogosphere has encouraged some other people to have a go.

It is interesting that a lot of the challenges we faced in setting up and populating this blog are uppermost in the their minds as well; getting content, ensuring engagement from staff, coherent voice and privacy issues.  From what I heard they’re well on their way to creating a first class blog for their staff to share experience and learn from; so I wish them well.  I’ll look forward to reading it (if and when they allow public visitors).

I think my one regret from the meeting is that once again I don’t have anything especially exciting top blog about at this point; but perhaps we should be grateful I’m not writing about digital preservation and curation again!

7 Responses to “Talking about my blog regeneration”

  1. stujohnson said

    It was a pleasure to see you. Thanks for your help. We’ll keep you posted

  2. And likewise Stu; and doubtless my fellow Library bloggers here would be only too happy to provide their insight as needed as well.

  3. David said

    I’m always surprised by people concerned about “getting content”…I find that I can sit on my own in a darkened room and find things to write about…no whether anyone wants to read that content I don’t know

  4. I think David it’s the difference between an experience blogger like you or I who’s happy to write from the hip (as it were) and people for whom the idea of writing something in the public domain is a bit terrifying. Not to mention the worry about it being one more thing to find time for in a busy working day.

    • David said

      @Gazjjohnson Of course you are right. However, once someone gives blogging a try they quickly realise that it is far from terrifying, and if used properly it can help with their busy working day.

      Currently trying to suggest to a friend they use a blog as a promotional tool for their hotel (curiously enough in Leicester), but they too has fail to see the potential wealth of content they have.

  5. sarahw9 said

    Perhaps writing is a more ‘natural’ activity to some than others. Also people think and reflect at different speeds (which doesn’t mean their ideas are any better or worse – some of the most creative people I know take the longest to process see book Harebrain tortoise mind). I’m getting round to saying you have to make it explicit to people that uniformity of approach is not necessary.

  6. RaiulBaztepo said

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a Reply

 
