UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

EMALink seminar on Web 2.0 & information literacy

Posted by gazjjohnson on 12 March, 2009

Yesterday I was a at a well attended and quite sparky EMALink event.  EMALink if you didn’t know is the East Midlands Association of Librarians, an informal events programme arranged by the universities within and between the East Midlands HEI universities, including a few unis who are perhaps on the friges of this region (e.g.Warwick).

The two chunks yesterday were a framing talk from Joanne Dunham and then a longer talk about her and Alan Cann’s work by Sarah Whittaker.  There was also a couple of group work exercises for us to get our teeth into; including planning the ideal information literacy training event’ and reflections on our own Web 2.0 experiences.

I wasn’t originally going to go along, thinking that being a bit clued up on Web 2.0, that I wouldn’t be able to take much away from the day (doubtless I’d have much to say as usual, so apologies to anyone who struggled to get a word in edge-ways over me!).  Actually I was dead wrong, as there were several brilliant ideas that people in my group talked about that I fully intend to steal…erm, re-purpose!

One solid output from the day was the suggestion that we ought to have a directory of sorts for all the Web 2.0 networking librarians in the region.  unfortunately once again my loud mouth/native enthusiasm resulted in myself being tasked with the job.  Not that I really minded!

And so I am proud to roll out the East Midlands Librarians Networking site – a directory for EM librarians to share their social networking IDs (or at least as many as they want to) and to help us forge some strong local routes of communication.  The site, such as it is, is here.

4 Responses to “EMALink seminar on Web 2.0 & information literacy”

  1. sarahw9 said

    I enjoyed it and wished it had been longer as there was so much to cover. Thanks to all those who attended.

  2. Aye, that’s always the thing with these EMA Link things – even an extra hour would be good! I wanted more workshop and networking time personally, as my group was just getting going…

  3. AJ Cann said

    You can embed the slides on Slideshare here directly if you wish – use the wordpress.com embed code from Slideshare.

Leave a Reply

 
