UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

SCRUM Master wannabe

Posted by gazjjohnson on 17 April, 2009

Doubtless regular readers of this blog (yes both of you) will have been glued to the #jiscri twitter feed and ScienceLeicester blog where we’ve been discussing at some considerable length the process of developing a bid for the JISC Rapid Innovation 03/09 funding call.  This has rather eaten all my time of late, though considering the amount of time the repository has been taking up I think this seems a fair division of labour.

It has been…an interesting experience; especially since I made the noble/foolish gesture of putting myself forward as prospective project manager.  This rather catapulted me from interested party to organiser in one fell swoop.  I’ve been involved in bidding and preparation of bids in the past; but this is the first time I’ve actually led from the front.  I can begin to understand why my other half steers clear of bidding as much as possible.

But all the challenging ins and outs aside, it has really been quite an illuminating procedure; in that I know now the steps processes (and work load) needed to bring together a bid such as ours (I nearly uttered the name of the project there – that’ll have to wait until the bid’s in I think!).  Yes it is a lot of work, and in terms of working out the institutional procedures for such a thing a somewhat uphill challenge.  But now we’re almost through and the bid is ready to go, I can reflect back that next time (and hopefully somewhere/somewhen there will be another) I pull one of these together it certainly isn’t going to be quite so arcane a process.

On the other hand, don’t imagine for a moment that I believe the process will be any more quicker; just more matter of fact with experience.  If you’ve never been involved in bidding, it’s worth getting involved with; so that when the day comes and you need to headline one – you’ll find the whole process a little bit easier.

But only a little bit.

I’m also looking forward to employing SCRUM project management and seeing how that works in practice.  I think the team I’m working with should be fine with it; but I know it’s a very different style what a lot of folks are going to be used to.  I believe it should be very effective in keeping us focused and on track  without the need for such monolithic entities as PRINCE2.  And come Monday, we’ll be having our first semi-offical SCRUM…

Leave a Reply

 
