UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

Cite your tweets

Posted by gazjjohnson on 27 April, 2009

Spotted on Twitter – a useful blog posts on citing tweets (let’s leave aside why you’d want to cite them, and any questions over their academic validity shall we)

How to cite twitter posts in APA style

What amuses me is that makes the reference longer that the tweet in the first place!  And does one use the authors real name or twitter name to ID?  Personally I’d favour the latter, since my Twitter ID is actually a discretely different persona to my RL one.

But at least now you can have a go at capturing those moments of fleeting tweeting brilliance if you like!

3 Responses to “Cite your tweets”

  1. Thanks Gareth. It is funny that the reference would be longer than the tweet😀

    When I blogged my guessing I hadn’t recently reviewed the APA Style Guide to Electronic References (2007). After a commenter asked that very question I went looking for an answer. On (p.23) of that guide we’re told to use the author’s real name if it is available, but otherwise to use the screen-name.

    If APA is going to insist on real name, then I’d like to see provision for identification of the name under which the author wrote to be consistent with APA’s principle of being able to find the source.

    Way back in 1998 Land (a.k.a Beads) recommended that the real name ought to be used if it can be found, including the nickname in brackets with “a.k.a” immediately after. Personally I’d prefer an “as:” tag, for example if I were to cite one of your tweets I’d like to list it: Johnson, G. J. [as: llordllama].

  2. It’ll be interesting to see people quoting real name unknown people’s tweets (I know I follow a number of people who’s real names are shrouded!) in a set of references. Could make for some interesting reference lists.

    And I suspect no one’s going to be quoting my tweets any time soon🙂

  3. Brook said

    It’s going to be end of mine day, however before finish
    I am reading this wonderful article to improve my experience.

Leave a Reply

 
