UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

It’s scaring Wikipedia

Posted by gazjjohnson on 14 May, 2009

You might have seen the news articles or read in the press or bloggoverse about Wolfram|Alpha.  I confess I’d sort of noticed it, but not really paid attention.  This afternoon someone passed me a rather handy narrated demo of what the site can offer, and I must say it looks very impressive.  Able to handle natural language queries or short text and return with statistical information, factual stuff and very graphically friendly too.  Potentially I can see it is going to cause major problems for search services and maybe, dare I say it, librarians too.

Interestingly if you read the Wikipedia dicussion on the resource, you’ll see that there’s some fear that it’ll kill of Wikipedia itself.  I wouldn’t go that far, but it will certainly shake the search world up.  Wonder how Google will react?

5 Responses to “It’s scaring Wikipedia”

  1. selinalock said

    It does look very powerful in terms of data and analysis and accessing/doing things that a traditional search engine can’t. But my immediate questions is where si the data coming from? How reliable is it?

  2. sarahw9 said

    I think I’ll wait to test it with some real life questions and see what the results are, but yes it looks good. How long before to wolfram becomes a verb?

  3. AJ Cann said

    Google already reacted: Google Squared
    http://ajcann.posterous.com/searchologists-give-a-glimpse-of-what-googles

Leave a Reply

 
