UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

The blog as an induction tool

Posted by emmakimberley on 4 September, 2009

It has occurred to me over the last few days while I’ve been finding my feet in a new job that the blog is incredibly useful as an induction tool. I’ve enjoyed reading through previous posts and getting a sense of the history behind various projects. It has also given me an idea of who is interested in what, and especially who might be interested in some of the areas my post as Research Forum Facilitator will work to develop.

Here is a very brief overview of what I’ll be doing up in the Graduate School Reading Room. I’ll be working to facilitate a physical and virtual research forum that will support postgraduate researchers in general, and PhD students in particular. I’ll have a stand up in the reading room, from which I can act as a point of contact for referral to any services they might need, as well as maintaining an online presence. Over the next couple of months I’ll be involved in the exciting new project of setting up a Graduate Media Zoo. I’m also very interested in doing anything I can to smooth the way for doctoral researchers over what can be a difficult few years. This will include using web 2.0 technologies to encourage social and academic networking as well as general problem sharing!

I’m looking forward to talking about web 2.0 with you all… and of course reading more of this valuable resource which is a great help to newcomers!

One Response to “The blog as an induction tool”

  1. Pleased to hear you found the blog useful in this regard – when we set it up I kinda advocated it as a knowledge based resource – or rather it would be the more we add to it. Nice to know that a 18 months on it really does fulfil that role. I just wish we could persuade more of our own staff to read it on a regular basis, at times I suspect we have more external readers than internal ones!

Leave a Reply

 
