UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

Glyndwr University’s new librarianship foundation degree

Posted by gazjjohnson on 22 September, 2009

Last week I took the plunge and took the long train ride to Wales and Wrexham.  I went over to appear as a guest lecturer at Glyndwr University’s new Library & Information Practice degree.  The degree’s had some good coverage in the press, as it’s aimed at those already working within a library service at a para professional (library assistant) level who want to move their skills on quite seriously.  I really approve of this.  Back in the early 2000s I was instrumental in getting Careers Days for Library Assistants off the ground through the Yorkshire CDG group; so I’m glad someone’s taken the idea further.

Whilst Wrexham might not be the most photogenic city, the University itself is rather nice and their welcome as warm as it comes.  And especially their library which Chief Librarian Paul Jeorrett took me round before my session.  Full of comfy leather chairs, exceptional lighting (natural and electric) and one of the most helpful and enthusiastic staff I’ve encountered for quite some time.  The students on all their degrees are going to really enjoy working there I can tell. 

My session (covering effective advocacy, visual communication and simple business cases for marketing your library service) went down really well – since I got two rounds of very enthusiastic applause.  Either that or they were glad that they could head off to lunch!

Glyndwr University Library light wellAs the course is mostly by distance learning there is a real emphasis on getting to grips with Web 2.0 and social networking during this first week; the hope being that the small but enthusiastic class of 12 will keep in touch when they’re not having a residential week.  I have to say from my encounters with the students in the classroom and over the few meals we shared that I was impressed by their eagerness to learn and breadth of library experience.  They all deserve to do really well; as indeed do all the other tutors and course leaders at the course. 

I should also mention that every communication I had with the Uni (including a sudden need to swap the times of my session at the last minute) was via Web 2.0.  Indeed when I got my expenses form through a Web 1 channel, it felt rather a disappointment – but then Facebook doesn’t handle attachments very well (or indeed at all).

And they’re already advertising the 2010 intake, so if you’re a library assistant who’d like to consider developing more skills and a professional qualification, this course is well worth a very serious look!  Now if CILIP would only accredit it fully…

9 Responses to “Glyndwr University’s new librarianship foundation degree”

  1. GeeDee said

    Gareth – originating from Wrexham, know this site quite well – the buildings of the sixth-form college I attended now form part of the university. In those halcyon days Wrexham had a decent enough football team (ground right next to the campus) but it all went wrong and we’re struggling in the Blue Sqaure Premiership😦
    BTW, don’t think Wrexham has city status yet although they have applied for it on at least one occasion…

    • Yes I heard a bit about the football team whilst I was there. Hailing from Lincoln myself I know all about teams “what once were great”!

      Frankly I was rather pleasently suprised by a stroll around Wrexham, rough around the edges but some real charm and heart to it.

  2. Andrea Hilditch said

    Gareth

    You are a true advocate of ‘just giving it a go’. I am one of the students on the first ever FdSc Library and Information Pracice course and thoroughly enjoyed your approach. And I’ve now tried Movie Maker – not too difficult to use.

    The photo of Paul (Head of User Services at Glyndwr) on your blog there – was he startled by your mere presence??! In the background is the information library I look after – it’s the Careers Centre at Glyndwr so I couldn’t pass the opportunity to say hello!

    We’d love to have you back at Glyndwr anytime. Everyone was buzzing – please say hello to all of your furry friends!

    Andrea

    • Cheers for the comments Andrea – and yeah, I’ll give anything a go (even if it might not work for sure!). The snap of Paul was me just taking a quick shot with the camera – so yes he wasn’t posed or ready for it!

      Hope to be back at Glyndwr just as soon as they invite me back (or I pop over for a visit one weekend!)

  3. […] and ApprenticeshipOur degrees of chicken or egg…Finance Jobs : Bookkeeper Job Career ProfileGlyndwr University’s new librarianship foundation degree #header {text-align: center } #description { clear:both;text-align: center; […]

  4. I’ve study a couple of nutrients below. Absolutely cost social bookmarking with regard to revisiting. I personally big surprise exactly how a lot try out you put to help make the kind of great beneficial site.

  5. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It will always be helpful to read through content from other authors
    and use something from their websites.

  6. Hurrah, that’s what I was seeking for, what a stuff!
    present here at this weblog, thanks admin of this website.

  7. great issues altogether, you simply gained a emblem new reader.
    What could you suggest in regards to your post that you simply made a few days
    in the past? Any sure?

Leave a Reply

 
