UoL Library Blog

Develop, debate, innovate.

Finding an author’s h-index – a step by step guide

Posted by gazjjohnson on 6 February, 2009

The h-index (Hirsch Number) is a metric that is increasingly becoming of interest to researchers, especially in the light of the REF.  An h-index is “a number that quantifies both the actual scientific productivity and the apparent scientific impact of a scientist“.  You can work it out manually, but to be honest you’d need to be mad or a bibliometrics fiend to want to.

I’ve been asked by a few people how to find it, and each time I totally forget how!  So in the light of this, here’s my step by step guide to discovering an author’s h-index automatically using that wonderful Web of Knowledge tool!

  1. Go to Web of Knowledge  and click on the big green button
  2. Click the Web of Science tab at the top of the screen
  3. Rnter the author’s name in the format surname initial* (e.g. raven e*)
  4. Change the search option from the drop down menu to Author
  5. Click Search
  6. At the top right of the results is the option to Create Citation Report. Click this.
  7. The analysis appears, along with the person’s relative h-index.

It seems simple, but I was scratching my head using WoK until I discovered that I need to just use Web of Science, not the whole WoK in order to get the value.  And so, now you know!  It is worth noting you do have to be fairly exact in your author naming conventions, as the citation report will not run for more than 10, 000 result records.

I did wonder if between steps 6 and 7 about selecting individual papers from the list of results, but it appears that this has no effect on the citation analysis; for example selecting 5 papers from a list of 120, 000 doesn’t enable me to run the citation reports – it appears to run in an all or nothing manner.  Or maybe there’s a trick here I’m missing?

71 Responses to “Finding an author’s h-index – a step by step guide”

  1. The h-index, although attractive and commonly used, really has a large range of problems in terms of being a measure of anything useful. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hirsch_number#Criticism for a start, and also http://michaelnielsen.org/blog/?p=248

    It seems highly unlikely that the REF will use the h-index to be honest – it is just too blunt a tool.

  2. David said

    Alternatively, if you find that the stuffy old web of science doesn’t give you the great h-index you are after, head over to Google Scholar and count up by hand all those obscure citations that really should count in these days of alternative publishing models!

  3. Yeah, I get the feeling this is something that our fabled bibliometric librarian will end up doing (and something that I hope someone writes an app for I don’t have to hand-code it!)

  4. The ‘Publish or Perish’ software available at http://www.harzing.com/pop.htm does bibliometrics based on Google Scholar data – although I really don’t like this simplistic approach to bibliometric data – lies, damn lies, statistics, and bibliometrics!

  5. David said

    @Owen I’ve only given it the quickest of looks, but I must say that it looks extremely useful, thanks

  6. […] infor­ma­cje można zna­leźć na blogu UoL Library Blog i w tym […]

  7. Ricardo said

    Useful, thanks, but it will only work for author with no overlapping names. Not my case…

  8. Dong said

    Whether the interface was changed or must to login? I cannot find it from wizard above???

  9. Ciao, volevo segnalarvi un plugin per calcolare l’h-index utilizzando Firefox con Google Scholar: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/scholar-h-index-calculator/

  10. actoinon dvd…

    […]Finding an author’s h-index – a step by step guide « UoL Library Blog[…]…

  11. phillyclick…

    […]Finding an author’s h-index – a step by step guide « UoL Library Blog[…]…

  12. I actually would like to save this specific article, “Finding an authors
    h-index – a step by step guide UoL Library Blog” on my blog.
    Will you mind in the event I actuallydo it? Thx -Clarence

  13. Article writing is also a excitement, if you be acquainted with
    afterward you can write if not it is complicated to write.

  14. Alexandra said

    Hey there! I just want to give you a huge thumbs up for the excellent
    information you have here on this post. I am returning to your website for more soon.

  15. I don’t even know how I finished up here, but I believed this publish was once good. I don’t realize who you’re however definitely you’re going
    to a famous blogger if you happen to are not already.
    Cheers!

  16. Leanne said

    I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative and interesting,
    and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is an issue that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m
    very happy that I came across this in my hunt for something regarding this.

  17. Tanja said

    What i do not understood is in reality how you’re now not really much more smartly-favored than you might be now. You are very intelligent. You understand thus considerably in relation to this topic, produced me for my part imagine it from so many various angles. Its like men and women aren’t fascinated except it’s something to do with Girl gaga! Your personal stuffs nice. Always care for it up!

  18. Williemae said

    This was a truly outstanding read and I’d love to return and read some more if possible. I guess I’ll simply check
    back later. Remarkable job!

  19. Chun said

    Great article! We will be linking to this great article on our website.
    Keep up the great writing.

  20. Gazi said

    At last, after surfing http://uollibraryblog.wordpress.
    com/2009/02/06/finding-an-authors-h-index-a-step-by-step-guide/ for some time, I found a
    site from which I was able to really receive worthwhile information regarding the studies and the knowledge that
    I want. There need to be more things like this on LifeType
    . Now I recall why I used to love this blog.
    Thanks for keeping it going, I’m gonna start checking back more regularly. How frequently do you post on your site.?

  21. Stormy said

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to
    read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I will definitely comeback.

  22. Various activities in real life are replicated in this type of game.
    All our flights virtual airlines are flying online on this network.
    You could possibly encounter a similar successful folks on social networks consistently.

  23. Later on, among the continued practice ending up will continue
    to be auxiliary accustomed burning the various chords.
    Then you can quickly and easily figure out how to play
    any chord in any key on the spot, whether you’ve memorized that specific chord or not. It is very soothing to hear the sound of piano and based on such vast change of scales, a song sounds so melodious.

  24. Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using
    for this website? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with
    hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  25. Somanabolic Muscle Maximizer program is optimized for the U.
    Except this is exactly what does happen, frequently in badly
    considered build muscle strategies. Yes, obviously, it is
    the most affordable way of buying protein since all you want
    to do is to obtain those egg whites with a tray of offspring.

  26. Junior said

    Hi there friends, good post and nice arguments commented here,
    I am actually enjoying by these.

  27. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was super long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips for first-time blog writers? I’d
    definitely appreciate it.

  28. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this kind of
    space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site.
    Studying this info So i’m happy to exhibit that I’ve an incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed.
    I such a lot for sure will make certain to do not put out of your mind this
    site and give it a look on a continuing basis.

  29. I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit this web site on regular basis to obtain updated from newest news update.

  30. The printer will give a nice, professional printout each time or upon request.
    Some of the popular companies manufacturing are Beurer,
    Dr Morepen, Omron and Bremed. 7 percent of all Cubans carry one of the mutations that are causative of this dreaded blood cell
    disease.

  31. site said

    Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate
    your efforts and I am waiting for your further post
    thank you once again.

  32. There’s certainly a lot to learn about this issue.
    I really like all of the points you made.

  33. Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us
    so I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information.
    I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Excellent blog and terrific design and style.

  34. I was very happy to uncover this website. I
    need to to thank you for ones time for this particularly fantastic read!!
    I definitely loved every little bit of it and i
    also have you saved to fav to look at new stuff on your web
    site.

  35. Foods that are naturally rich in vitamins and minerals can help the skin maintain elasticity, provide protection from the elements and help with the
    natural healing process. There are a couple of simple steps
    to take before buying a particular brand of natural skin care
    products. Make sure you use these products according to the instructions.

  36. At present, using tobacco isn’t an element of any religious rite anymore, but most humans have incorporated it
    onto their existence as a form of particular habit.

    Ren Jun, second in command amongst Suning Product what type honestly stated: “At The Moment, of the plug-in the tool have challenges, fail to come in contact with each wants, particularly in business enterprise plus budgetary conditions. Hence this is time to think about a best alternative to traditional cigarettes.

  37. You create your own timetable and you do not have to punch the clock for someone else anymore.
    This allows you to work out situations outside of your head and without hurting anyone.
    The ultimate responsibility may come down on our shoulders, but that
    doesn’t mean we’re islands that have to stand entirely on our own.

  38. com, which is a one-stop service for locating these
    coupons for a variety of participating vendors.
    This platform can, however, be confusing for the average business owner.
    When you say vintage you’ll probably refer back to the times of the
    eighties but nowadays even the seventies and the years before are considered vintage.

  39. I do trust all of the ideas you have offered to your post.
    They’re very convincing and will definitely work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very brief for starters.
    May you please prolong them a little from subsequent time?
    Thank you for the post.

  40. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it
    up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any suggestions for inexperienced blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

  41. Great post. I was checking continuously this weblog and I’m inspired!

    Very useful info specifically the final section 🙂 I take care of such info a lot.
    I used to be looking for this particular info for a long time.
    Thanks and good luck.

  42. What’s up, just wanted to say, I enjoyed this article.
    It was practical. Keep on posting!

  43. I every time spent my half an hour to read this weblog’s content daily along with a mug of coffee.

  44. Hi there to every one, the contents existing at this
    website are actually amazing for people knowledge, well, keep up the nice
    work fellows.

  45. Wow, fantastic weblog structure! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for?

    you made running a blog look easy. The whole glance
    of your web site is fantastic, as smartly as the content material!

  46. I simply couldn’t go away your website prior to suggesting that I
    actually loved the usual info an individual provide for your guests?
    Is going to be back regularly to check up on new posts

  47. This post will assist the internet visitors for setting up new webpage or even a weblog from start to
    end.

  48. I think the admin of this site is genuinely working hard in favor of his web page, for the reason that here every material is quality based stuff.

  49. Keeley said

    Awesome! Its truly amazing post, I have got much clear idea regarding from this paragraph.

  50. Nickolas said

    If you desire to increase your know-how simply keep visiting this web page and be updated with the most recent news
    posted here.

  51. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site.
    You have some really good articles and I feel I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely
    love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to
    mine. Please blast me an email if interested.
    Many thanks!

  52. What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It absolutely useful
    and it has aided me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & help other users
    like its aided me. Good job.

  53. Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get
    there! Thanks

  54. Hi to every body, it’s my first visit of this blog; this weblog contains amazing and in fact good stuff in favor of visitors.

  55. queerspawn said

    If some one wants to be updated with newest technologies
    afterward he must be visit this site and be up to date
    all the time.

  56. Asking questions are actually fastidious thing if you are not understanding
    something entirely, but this paragraph gives fastidious understanding yet.

  57. hi!,I really like your writing so a lot! share we be in contact more about your
    article on AOL? I require an expert on this area to resolve my problem.
    May be that’s you! Looking forward to look you.

  58. Great blog you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really like to be a part of community
    where I can get advice from other experienced people that share the
    same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.

    Bless you!

  59. Edison said

    Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple
    ipad and tested to see if it can survive a twenty five foot drop,
    just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now
    broken and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had
    to share it with someone!

  60. My brother suggested I might like this website. He was totally right.

    This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent
    for this info! Thanks!

  61. It’s enormous that you are getting ideas from this paragraph as well as from our argument made at this place.

  62. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really helpful & it helped
    me out much. I am hoping to present something again and aid others such as you
    helped me.

  63. got pussies ( got pussies )

    Finding an author’s h-index – a step by step guide « UoL Library Blog

  64. fuck everybody

    Finding an author’s h-index – a step by step guide « UoL Library Blog

  65. slimeballs said

    Hey there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate!

    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this write-up to
    him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Thank you for sharing!

  66. people ife use to other it trial shou standards the this to cover n

  67. I’ve recently proposed a novel index for evaluation of individual researchers that does not depend on the number of publications, accounts for different co-author contributions and age of publications, and scales from 0.0 to 9.9 (http://f1000research.com/articles/4-884). Moreover, it can be calculated with the help of freely available software. Please, share your thoughts on it. Would you use it along with the h-index, or maybe even instead of it, for evaluating your peers, potential collaborators or job applicants? If you’ve tried it on the people you know, do you find the results fair?

  68. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually understand what you are speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also consult with my web site =). We may have a link trade arrangement among us!

  69. sdf said

    If you are going for finest contents like myself, just pay a visit
    this web page everyday for the reason that it provides feature contents,
    thanks

  70. {

  71. colin dingwall said

    Poor instructions, The button is not green but purple and you need an institutional account to access

Leave a comment